Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: self-piercing and sterilization

Default self-piercing and sterilization

Hello everyone, I want to do self-piercing next spring, a Frenum ladder, 6 or 8. Gauge 2.4 mm, length 15 mm. I’ve read somewhere that I should do 4 max at a time for the piercings and the body to heal.
    I’ll be getting everything sterilize except the jewelry, I was thinking of soaking the barbell in alcohol for a few minutes then to put them in an ultrasonic cleaner. Should I do this or boiling the barbell in water is the best solution?
    I know that boiling the barbell in water takes time 15-20 minutes boiling and more time for the barbell to cool down, maybe an hour or more.

I’ve never done self-piercing before.

Thank you for your help and advice.
    Last edited by LJD; 12-13-2019 at 08:49 AM.

Hi,

Firstly, you are unlikely to be able to attain the same sterile environment that a decent studio will be able to do.
    I'm unsure as to why you wouldn't be getting the jewellery properly sterilised. I'd think that was the most important bit. I'm no expert but I doubt an ultrasonic cleaner would be sufficient.

Everyone is different, the usual recommendation is 2-3 piercings healing at a time. I wouldn't recommend 4 larger gauge piercings at the same time unless you have a lot of previous experience with piercings and know how your body will cope.

Also, given you have never done self-piercing, I think that you are a bit over-ambitious, particularly as it is genital piercings

Why do you want to self-pierce? My recommendation would be not to.
    Got: double snakebites|central lip|labret|1.6mm and 5mm tongue|philtrum|angel bites|smiley|septum|3 pairs nostrils|3 pairs eyebrows|bridge|15 & 16 (l&r) lobe/cartilage, rook, 2x tragus, 3x forward helix, conch (both ears symmetrical)|3x navel (74 holes in total)Want: Everything, slowly building up my piercings over time.Next up: venoms; maybe something genital