Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Time Is Now! My First Tat.

Smile The Time Is Now! My First Tat.

I had to share it. I am getting my very first tat on Wednesday. I'm a little nervous. A little scared. But, I'm 40 and it's about damn time I did this. I've wanted one since I was in my teens. Anyway, any advice from you experienced folks? I'm a Type 2 Diabetic, but my sugars are well controlled and I'm not on insulin.

I've had a child naturally so I'm thinking if I can handle that, a tat won't be a problem. Am I right?

As far as healing, what's the suggestion? How do you wash your hair or face or anything after you get a tat? I'm getting mine on my right wrist.

Any advice, experiences, and general info would be greatly appreciated.
    Hi, I'm Tracy

Current: 2 standard lobes, R nostril (I'm just getting started).
    Tattoos: Left forearm, Right outer bicep, Left outer bicep
    Future: more, more, more.

Senior Member MidnightDreamer22's Avatar

Some tips!

Eat before you go, the tattoo will be a bit of a shock to your body so it'll be good to have your sugar levels up. Try not to be too anxious since that doesn't help, I know it isn't easy but you can do it!

Afterwards, keep the cling wrap for a few hours afterwards, then wash with as-warm-as-you-can-stand-it water and very mild unscented soap, gentle movements, until the plasma goo is all off. Then I personally pat dry with some paper towel since they're one-use-only, and apply a small amunt of Fucidin (the orange one), but generally I think that Bepanthen is most preferred.

Again, personally I washed mine for about 2 days when I got up and before I went to bed in the evening, and several times during the day. After about a week, I switch to a lotion, Cetaphil to be specific. Don't use too much or you'll get some very annoying pimples, which is a mistake I made. Mine took about 15-20 days to fully heal!