Thread: Question about dry skin around my nostril piercing

Question Question about dry skin around my nostril piercing

Hi everyone. I was wondering if dry skin around a healing piercing is normal. I had the bump and have been using chamomile tea compresses twice a day for about 5 minutes for each application. The area sometimes burns (not because I've scalded it). When I get out of the shower, the skin seems so dry and flaky. Is that normal? Or is that because the tea is trying to break down the scar tissue bump that was there. It doesn't hurt or sting and it isn't red or irritated. It just looks dry until my skin oils start to take over. Anything I should be concerned about?
    Hi, I'm Tracy

Current: 2 standard lobes, R nostril (I'm just getting started).
    Tattoos: Left forearm, Right outer bicep, Left outer bicep
    Future: more, more, more.

Totally normal.
    Piercings: 6 lobes, 2 12mm stretched lobes, 4 helices, 3 tragus, daith, 2 nostril, 2.4mm VCH, 2.4mm daith
    Modifications: 5mm septum punch,
    coinslot ear cartilage removal, 5mm conch punch
    Cosmetic Modifications: Scar removal x6, semi permanent eyebrows, semi permanent eyeliner, lip dermal filler, botox
    Retired Piercings: 3 nipple, tongue, 4 philtrum, 4 eyebrow, 2 outer labia, VCH, 1 lobe, rook, nostril, 3 nape MDs, 2 wrist MDs, septum, 3 upper conch, conch, 5 helices
    Tattoos: 91 hours
    ***** HOW TO UP YOUR POST COUNT & RULES - ASK A QUESTION - BUMP INFORMATION - STRETCHING INFO & QUESTIONS*****
    >>>>>>>>>>New Members - Please do not PM me with questions about your piercing, this is what the forum is for, thank you<<<<<<<<<<

Quote Originally Posted by Hazel View Post
    Totally normal.
    Okay, good. It is so freakin' uncomfortable and I'm not totally healed, so I don't want to put moisturizer on it just yet. The Emu Oil just irritates it.