Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should there be laws against minors stretching their ears?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Should there be laws against minors stretching their ears?

I am currently a journalism student and I am writing an article about minors stretching their ears and I was hoping to get some opinions on this.

More and more young people are stretching their ears quickly and its becoming a trend in schools and often the speed and manner in which very young people do this can cause damage to their ears as they often do it quickly and without proper care.

-Should there be laws prohibiting this until a certain age e.g 16 or 18?

-Should people under a certain age be allowed to buy tapers etc?

-What age did you stretch and do you wish you had waited or that you had more information about it at the time?

-Do you have any horror stories about stretching young?

This is for my university course and I would appreciate hearing your views!

Thank you guys

I've never stretched my ears. I don't think it should be illegal, but I do think knowledge of the RIGHT way to stretch your ears needs to become more widespread. Maybe have it written on the back of every taper they buy.. "wait x time between stretches" "go from size x to x, never skip" etc. and make sure people selling tapers tell them that info. Because a lot of people just do whatever and assume it's okay, they have no idea they're actually doing the wrong thing.

If I was a piercer I wouldn't be selling tapers/large gauge jewellery to people under 16, but there's nothing to stop them buying online. Soo I think education is more important than prevention in this situation.
    -x-x-

Stacey ^^

"Creativity is the common culture of being a human being" - If a dog gets depressed, it won't drink whiskey or listen to Radiohead.

I have: Lobes x 3, Conch, tragus, daith, double forward helix, navel, VCH + 1 Tattoo

Retired: Helix (twice) :'(

Hi!