Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Helix/Rook Aftercare help

Default Helix/Rook Aftercare help

Hi guys,

Hope I'm posting in the right section. Just want some advice, mainly on my Helix as it’s driving me mad. I originally joined to ask for advice on my rook but after reading some threads I’ve seen I’m pretty much in the same boat as everyone else with this piercing!

Anyway, I’m pretty new to piercings (apart from standardlobe) having just started with them in Feb this year. I did a bit research and after deciding, went and got a Helix and Tragus piercing at the same time. Tragus has healed very well so far but my helix just isn’t happy, thought I’d cracked it when I went back to twice daily SSS (with buds and pads) about 2months ago but then I took a trip to the hairdressers and the hairdresser snagged it with towels, brushes, you name it on a few occasions. Since then it just won’t settle with SSS, it crusts up, it bleeds occasionally, it still swells.

Basically I want to know what else you suggest I try? I’ve been reading about chamomile tea bags on some threads, some youtube vids suggest savlon sprays. Also, how do you clean your rook piercing (had mine justover a month)? I was told to do it with a cotton bud soaking in SSS but there’s a lot of play on my curved bar and it moves quite a lot while I try my best to clean. I’ve tried cotton pads but I find it hard to get rid of crusties on my rook this way, though I find this the best solution for tragus and helix.

I’ve hopefully posted links to my piercings so you can take a look.

imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/img1123e.jpg/
    imageshack.us/photo/my-images/594/img1110b.jpg/
    imageshack.us/photo/my-images/51/img1105ww.jpg/

Help! I really don’t want to have to resort to taking my helix bar out.

Thanks!
    Last edited by Pixiedot; 07-21-2011 at 12:31 PM.
    Piercings
    Right : 2x Helix|Tragus|Rook| Double Conch| Triangle Lobe
    Left: Standard Lobe

Future
    Left: Forward Helix| Daith | High lobe