Page 1 of 19 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: The importance of saline solution and how to make it, plus Aseptic Technique 101

Default The importance of saline solution and how to make it, plus Aseptic Technique 101

Why Saline Solution is important and how to make it properly

What is saline? The best saline solution is called "Normal Saline" and is used in medicine as an intavenous infusion and for cleaning wounds. As a nurse I probably get through twenty litres of it on a quiet day. Most piercing enthusiasts make their own "sea salt soak", and I would bet that 99.9% of them get it wrong and seriously slow down the healing process. Knowledge is power, and if you know why it's important to get it right, you will make the effort and reap the benefits in faster healing times.

One of the properties of normal Normal Saline that distinguishes is from water is that it is isotonic. Isotonic solutions have equal osmotic pressure to the interior of your body cells, and that is hugely important for healing; in plain English, it means that the same levels of salts and other electrolytes are inside your cells as are in the same volume of the isotonic solution.

Why does it matter that your Sea Salt Soaks (SSS) are isotonic? The usual approach that people take to making a SSS is to whack a dirty great big scoop of salt into a glass of warm water. DON'T DO IT! If you do, the water from inside your nice new healing cells gets drawn out into the SSS and those cells subsequently shrivel up and die. Similarly, if you put too little salt in your SSS, the water gets drawn into your nice new healing cells and they explode and die. Seriously. They actually explode. This equalising of osmotic pressures by fluid transfer is why drinking sea water can kill you and why your fingers go wrinkly when you're in the bath too long, by the way.

So how do you make a Sea Salt Soak properly?