Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Piercing with Diabetes?...

I feel like I'm asking too many questions, but here it goes.

I got diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes today, about four hours ago. Now I have another friend with Type 1 Diabetes, and her mum doesn't let her get piercings done because of it, although I don't really know why...

How does Diabetes affect body piercing and tattoos, and does it mean I can't get them anymore? =/

I hope this isn't the case. It's been a hard enough day already. Thank you guys...
    Hi, I'm Kerry
    Facebook / Tumblr

Current:
    Left ear: L
    obe (5mm), rook, anti-tragus,
    Right ear: Lobe (12mm), tragus, forward helix, conch
    Septum

Right horizontal nipple

Navel
    Right nostril

Retired:
    Inverse Navel
    Left tragus

Scarred_pierced

It doesn't mean you cant get them anymore, but I think it's harder for them to heal or something, but if you've been getting them all this time then I don't see why you can't continue. I'm no expert, but we did have a member with diabetes who kept on getting pierced...even more than one actually.

As far as I know it may present longer healing times, found this for you.
    Current: 5 standard lobes, 2 0g lobes, 7 helices, 3 tragus, conch, daith, 2 nostril, septum, 3 MDs
    Retired: 3 nipple, tongue, philtrum, 2 eyebrow, 2 outer labia, VCH, 2 helix, 1 lobe, rook
    18 hours of tattoo work

Voluntary forum Administrator, PM's not related to forum/tech issues may not be replied to.
    Please read the Forum Rules

Diabetics also suffer with poorer circulation - especially in the feet. When I was a pharmacy assistant we couldn't sell any type of plaster/foot healing product to a diabetic as loss of feeling often meant they had more severe foot problems.